Lady justice statue

Board Members

About the Board

The Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board is an independent board made up of five full-time salaried members appointed by the Governor for terms of six years. Not more than three may belong to the same political party. One member is named by the Governor as chair. 

Geraldine A. Reilly, Chair

Geraldine Reilly

Geraldine A. Reilly is a Magna Cum Laude graduate of the Seton Hall University School of Law. She also earned a Master of Science in Industrial and Labor Relations from the Cornell University School of Industrial and Labor Relations and Baruch College of the City University of New York. Her undergraduate degree is from Brooklyn College of the City University of New York. Ms. Reilly worked as a staff counsel in the New York State Assembly and as a staff member to the Labor, Education and Banking Committees. She has extensive experience in the field of labor relations and labor law in the public and private sectors and in the railroad industry. She has experience in arbitration and in drafting and negotiating legislation, including the unemployment, labor and workers’ compensation laws. She was appointed to the New York State Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board in February 2010.

Michael Twomey Greason

Michael Twomey Greason was appointed to the Board in 2002 and reappointed in 2003 and 2006. He served as Chairman from July 2006 through July 2007. A native of New York City, Mr. Greason brings 20 years of government and management experience to the Board. He began his public career in law enforcement and has more recently served the public and non-profit sectors as an Assistant Manager of the Metropolitan Museum of Art; as Director of Communications for the Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation of NYS; as Deputy Commissioner of Personnel for the City of Yonkers; and most recently, as the Deputy Commissioner of Human Rights for the State of New York. Mr. Greason is a graduate of the Richmond (VA) Sheriff's Academy and he received his Bachelor's and Master's degrees from the University of Richmond.

June F. O'Neill

June F. O’Neill was appointed to the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board by Governor Andrew Cuomo on June 30, 2017. Prior to her Board appointment, Ms. O’Neill has had a long and distinguished career in public service. Most recently, Ms. O’Neill was the Department of Labor Commissioner’s North Country Regional Representative. Prior to her service at the Department of Labor, Ms. O’Neill worked for many years in the NYS Office of the State Comptroller holding a variety of important positions including Employer Outreach Manager, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, and Executive Coordinator for Training and Intergovernmental Affairs. Among the varied positions in state and local government Ms. O'Neill has held include serving as the Director of the NYS Office of Rural Affairs (the first of its kind in the nation Cabinet-level office), North Country Ombudsman in the NYS Department of State, as well as various positions in St. Lawrence County Government. Active in her community as well, she is currently a member of SUNY Potsdam College Council where she serves as Chair.

Randall T. Douglas

Randall (Randy) T. Douglas has served as a NYS Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board member since June 5, 2015. Previously, Randy served as the Town of Jay Supervisor in Essex County from 2004 until June 2, 2015, when former Governor Cuomo appointed him to the Board. Douglas was the first third-generation Supervisor in the history of Essex County. His grandfather, Arthur J. Douglas, served from 1966-1972. His father, Thomas A. Douglas, served from 1972-1980, and again from 1998-2000. Randy also served as the Chairman of the Essex County Board of Supervisors from Jan. 1 , 2010 until June 2, 2015. Traditionally, Chairman selected by their peers serve for two one-year terms. However, Douglas was elected unanimously to six consecutive one-year terms by a bipartisan Board because of his outstanding work as the leader of Essex County. Douglas is also a past Board Member of the North Country United Way, a past Executive Board Member of the Adirondack Association of Towns and Villages, a past member of the resolution committee for the NYS Association of Towns and Villages, a past Board Member of the NYS Association of Counties, and was serving as President-Elect of this organization in the fall of 2015. However, Douglas accepted the appointment to the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board before his step up to the presidency went into effect. Douglas graduated from AuSable Valley Central High School, studied criminal justice at Clinton Community College, and received governmental certification from NYSAC/Cornell University's Dennis A. Pelletier Institute. Douglas, a quick thinker and an established leader during natural disasters, assisted NYS’s response to the Buffalo Blizzard of 2014 by organizing and sending many resources and manpower from the North Country to assist with recovery efforts. Douglas also helped a group from Staten Island navigate through federal guidelines for the property buyout program after the devastating effects of Hurricane Sandy in 2012. Douglas' greatest accomplishment may be that he led the Town of Jay and Essex County in emergency response, recovery and rebuilding efforts after Hurricane Irene on August 28, 2011 — the worst natural disaster in their history.

Marilyn P. O'Mara

Marilyn P. O'Mara was appointed to the Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board by Governor Andrew Cuomo on July 28, 2017. Ms. O’Mara received her B.A. in International Studies and French from American University and her Juris Doctorate from Syracuse University College of Law. She worked as an Associate Attorney in the offices of Condon & Forsyth in New York City after completing law school. She went on to work in the New York State Attorney General's Office as the Assistant Attorney General in Charge of the Binghamton Regional Office. She then served as Court Attorney to the Honorable Judith F. O’Shea in Chemung County Family Court. In 2000, she founded her own law firm specializing in litigation. She also served as Election Commissioner on the Chemung County Board of Elections. She is fluent in Spanish and French.