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New York State
Worker Adjustment and 
Retraining Notification (WARN) Act
The State WARN Act strengthens the provisions 
of the Federal WARN Act of 1989.  New York has 
established more stringent WARN laws at the 
state level. 

State Bill
•	 Private sector employers in New York 

State that employ more than 50 are 
required to issue a WARN notice 90 days 
before closing a plant. They must also 
notify when there is a layoff that affects 
33 percent of the workforce (at least 25 
workers) or 250 workers from a single 
employment site. They must send the 
notice to employees, their representatives, 
the State Labor Department and local 
workforce investment partners.

•	 Businesses that fail to file a WARN Notice 
would obligate the Commissioner of Labor 
to enforce penalties under provisions of 
the State WARN Act.

•	 The Act provides for a civil penalty of $500 
per day of violation. Employers in violation 
are also liable for back pay and other 
benefits for 60 days of the violation.  

•	 The law gives employees more time to 
prepare for layoffs and increases the 
chances that they will find a new job.

•	 The state law gives more advance notice to 
local governments. It offers regional Rapid 
Response teams more time to aid affected 
employees with timely job placement 
assistance before layoffs occur such as job 
referral, focused job fair availability, resume 
preparation, job market information, career 
advice and training options. Information is 
also provided regarding the Career Center 
system, filing an Unemployment Insurance 
claim, comparing health care cover options 
and identify useful community resources.

•	 State WARN Law is found here: 
www.labor.ny.gov/agencyinfo/PDFs/
WARN%20law%20%20chapter%20475.pdf

•	 State WARN Regulations is found here: 
www.labor.ny.gov/workforcenypartners/
warn/pdfs/Text_of_New_York_State_
WARN_Rule_7-10.pdf

Federal Bill
•	 �The national legislation requires only 60 

days notice for employers with 100 or 
more employees and requires a larger 
number of affected employees before 
WARN is triggered. 

•	 It does not have any provisions for 
administrative enforcement. 
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